I used to take some homework breaks to explore my Tumblr account, but I have not visited the site for awhile. My Tumblr blog is like many others: a culmination of pictures I find on the Internet, either discovered myself but mostly reblogged from other Tumblr users, that I think are cool. I have been thinking about the idea of getting rid of the blog, and this led me to ask, what's good about Tumblr? Let's ask some of the bloggers.

  • "You will never sleep, socialize, or see the light of day EVER again. I have captured you and you have fallen for my trap." -Tumblr user describing Tumblr
  • "I kinda hope my parents find my Tumblr, so then I can get grounded to my room... and spend more time on Tumblr." -Tumblr user
  • "Who's your soulmate? My blog." -Tumblr user

Many LVC students also use Tumblr. Sophomore Tyler Shaull says he uses it because "it's an outlet of stress . . . It's also, to me, just pretty cool to do." For those who primarily have picture blogs, as described above, scrolling through countless pictures that are appealing to you is a pretty mindless, stress-free activity. Designing your own blog promotes creativity, and compiling a website full of your interests is also a good outlet for self-expression. Following blogs similar to yours is a way of sharing your interests with a wider audience of both friends and strangers. Some blogs include original creative content, such as writing and photography. If you feel as if you would like to start something creative, there are benefits to creating and managing a personal blog. Although I am taking a break from mine, and I have never felt as enthusiastic as the Tumblr users mentioned above, I never take a break from personal blogging for too long. It is a good way for students to share their creative interests and self-expression with others.



Leave a Reply.